Author Topic: Global Cache IRE Error  (Read 2294 times)

iolaus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Global Cache IRE Error
« on: February 14, 2012, 08:53:53 pm »
I've started seeing the following error show up in my Elve logs:

Code: [Select]
Date:     2/14/2012
Time:     7:24:56 PM
Severity: Error
Source:   DriverService
Computer: AUTOMATION
Context Type: Driver
Context Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach : Global Cache GC-100
Description:
An error ocurred in the Global Cache Driver received serial port response event.

FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.

System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
   at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal)
   at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info)
   at BuiltInDrivers.GlobalCacheIreOrIrl.GCIRToCcf(Int32 frequency, String onOffCodes)
   at BuiltInDrivers.GlobalCacheIreOrIrl.serialPort_ResponseReceived(Object sender, ReceivedDelimitedStringEventArgs e)

I'm not 100% sure that this error started with an Elve upgrade but, because I haven't changed anything in my automation setup for quite some time, I suspect it may have.

Any suggestions for testing or possible causes?

John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2851
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Global Cache IRE Error
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 01:48:34 pm »
It is indicating that the data received from the IRE was in an unexpected format. I would need to see that actual data to determine the cause and apply a fix.  Are you able to reproduce the error? If so then please turn on diagnostic logging for the driver, clear the log, cause the error and post the log or a portion of the log around the error.

Thanks

John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

iolaus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: Global Cache IRE Error
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2012, 01:58:37 pm »
I am not able to recreate the error at will but it does seem to happen 2 or 3 times a day.  I've enabled debug logging for the Global Cache driver and will post again with details as soon as I see the error again.

Thanks.

John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2851
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Global Cache IRE Error
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2012, 03:46:35 pm »
This is fixed in the most recent version.
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies