Author Topic: Need to monitor my AC unit  (Read 3236 times)

Frunple

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
    • View Profile
Need to monitor my AC unit
« on: May 22, 2014, 04:50:12 am »
Had some problems last year so I want to keep an eye on it this year.
What I had in mind is a notification if the actual temperature in the house goes 3 degrees higher than the cooling set point.
So what I want is something like:

if ( omni.ThermostatCurrentTemperatures[1] > omni.ThermostatCoolSetPoints[1] "+ 3 degrees")

How would I add the + 3 degrees??


iostream212

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
    • View Profile
Re: Need to monitor my AC unit
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 06:52:35 am »
Not sure if elk is different than hai, but this worked for me:
Code: [Select]
elkm1.ThermostatCurrentTemperatures[1]) > elkm1.ThermostatCoolSetPoints[1])+3;
If you are running into a conversion issue you can try something like this:
Code: [Select]
number(elkm1.ThermostatCurrentTemperatures[1]) == (number(elkm1.ThermostatCoolSetPoints[1])+3);
This reminds me of the time I went on a day trip and turned off the ac. Problem was I forgot to turn it back on and we got home at 9:00pm and it was 88 degrees inside. :o

I always wanted to be somebody. In retrospect, I think I should have been more specific.

Frunple

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
    • View Profile
Re: Need to monitor my AC unit
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2014, 12:41:30 pm »
I'll give it a try.
Thanks!

Frunple

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 774
    • View Profile
Re: Need to monitor my AC unit
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2014, 08:23:51 am »
Gotta say thanks again... seems to be working perfectly.