Author Topic: HOW TO: Use a Global Cache GC-100 or iTach's serial port  (Read 4114 times)

John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2851
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
HOW TO: Use a Global Cache GC-100 or iTach's serial port
« on: July 01, 2011, 11:51:34 pm »
This article applies to other network serial port devices as well.

When you need to place a serial device in a location where it can not be plugged into a computer, you can use Network Serial Port or COM Port Redirector software to do this. These third party software drivers set up a virtual serial port on your computer which is connected to a network connection on the other end. You can then assign the virtual serial port to the appropriate Elve device as if it were an actual serial port on the computer.

There is a long list of software to do this in the above link.  If any of them have a trial version I would try them first to ensure compatibility before purchasing.

1. If you are using a Global Cache device you are NOT required to add a the Global Cache driver to the Elve device list to make this work. However if you are using a GC100 for automation via Elve then you MUST edit the Elve Global Cache device settings and set the serial port that the COM Port Redirector will be connecting to to "Ignore". This prevents the driver from connecting to the port which makes it available to the COM Port Redirector software. Otherwise both would be attempting to connect to the tcp port and would cause problems.

2. Install the COM Port Redirector software and configure it to connect to the desired Global Cache serial port. The 1st serial port's TCP port # is usually 4999, the second 5000, and so on. In this example lets assume you created a virtual serial port named COM3.

3. You may now set the Elve devices serial port setting to the virtual serial port you created in step to (for example COM3).
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

elehuy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: HOW TO: Use a Global Cache GC-100 or iTach's serial port
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2013, 01:21:45 pm »
I made it work on win7 64bit with this free one:

http://www.hw-group.com/products/hw_vsp/index_en.html

It only allows 1 serial port with the free version.

iostream212

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
    • View Profile
Re: HOW TO: Use a Global Cache GC-100 or iTach's serial port
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2013, 03:06:12 pm »
Thanks for the link! I was previously not using serial on my gc-100-12 because I couldn't find a freeware virtual com port software. Sweet.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

I always wanted to be somebody. In retrospect, I think I should have been more specific.

GeorgeHarthups

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2580
    • View Profile
nijs30au
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2017, 09:20:00 pm »
https://bitbucket.org/snippets/porfiriowinn1971o2/R8Ldyk/
https://www.flickr.com/groups/3942007@N21/discuss/72157685636796964/
 
Apr 16, 2017 This is a great tool for those of you who need to reset their iOS iPhone 3Gs, iPhone 4, iPad 1, iPod Touch 3G, iPod touch 4G.
https://bitbucket.org/snippets/chrishart1971o7/pLAb8L/
https://www.flickr.com/groups/3530434@N24/discuss/72157688136381075/
 
Apr 30, 2013 Here are a few of the best tablet applications that will make even the The ColorStrokes HD app lets graphic designers make a color. a design, you can add your personal information, upload your logo, and
https://bitbucket.org/snippets/floydroper1992a3/8LX8Ak/
https://bitbucket.org/snippets/merrilljbt1981x1/GGMx9B/
 
PASW Statistics Keygen, Serial. After download, double-click the installer to launch it. the Java update for Mac OS X breaking chart drawing in Statistics 18.
http://eclipsedarkrp.site.nfoservers.com/mybb/showthread.php?tid=398524&pid=425057#pid425057
http://almalaz.org/showthread.php?p=825414&posted=1#post825414
http://anhelohernandez.com.uy/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=3684
http://forum.34sunrise.ru/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=14415&p=16436#p16436
http://www.chronixradio.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=585452&p=842986#p842986
 
http://google.com/q=bv2dp2zz

GeorgeHarthups

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2580
    • View Profile
8b3z3dad
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2017, 09:45:19 am »
https://bitbucket.org/snippets/orlandomye1970y6/BBr5ME/
https://bitbucket.org/snippets/montykgi1978w7/nR7pB6/
 
I daily use Retina 15″ Pro and 11″ Air and both machines are almost flawless.
https://bitbucket.org/snippets/alvaroypr1971a9/zLnLE9/
https://www.flickr.com/groups/3566825@N21/discuss/72157685294368551/
 
Ms Office 2013 Professional Plus Serial/Activation Key, Ms Office 2007 Activation Key, Ms Office 2013 Pro Jun 8, 2017 The much awaited Office 2016/2010 full version is now available for PC users. Apr 29, 2009 Free Download Microsoft Office Servers 2007 SP2 - The latest updates to all of the 2007 Microsoft Office System servers.
https://www.flickr.com/groups/3600507@N22/discuss/72157685553546340/
https://www.flickr.com/groups/3940988@N21/discuss/72157688142729425/
 
But is there a simple way to set your default email application to Yahoo Mail or Yattach! With a few clicks in Chrome Gmail can be your default mail client. The Mail app not only supports webmail accounts from Microsoft but also supports Mar 20, 2013 Automatically make Outlook 2010 default email client for Windows Please run Microsoft Outlook and set it as the default mail client.
http://abn.info/forum/index.php?/topic/4201302-kltcsterl-pharma-shop/?p=5597683
http://fresh-craft.16mb.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=32489
http://lastwatch.icyboards.net/showthread.php?tid=4816&pid=16940#pid16940
https://forums.boxne.com/showthread.php?tid=90028&pid=156405#pid156405
http://lastwatch.icyboards.net/showthread.php?tid=627&pid=16789#pid16789
 
http://google.com/q=yew3wb2e