Author Topic: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!  (Read 6823 times)

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« on: September 01, 2011, 10:20:02 am »
I replaced my USB-UIRT with a Global Cache 100-6, using a Xantech 2911 receiver, Xantech connecting block and the proper connecting cord for the GC-IRE.  Learning in Elve gives the appearance of being happy.

I am, however, having trouble getting the IR commands to execute a rule.  Some work, others do not.  I haven't been able to figure out the difference between those that work and those that don't.

In logging the activity of the Global Cache, the rules that work show receipt of the IR command and the next line up is the execution of the rule as would be expected.

On the ones that do not work, the log shows receipt of the IR command, but stops there.  No additional line showing the execution of the rule.

I have learned, and relearned the codes, trying all different settings and I am unable to have any effect on the issue.  I have built simple test rules and the effect is the same on a new rule.

Rather than load this communication with log files, I'll let you ask for what might be helpful.

Appreciate any help in getting this going.

Deane

John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2011, 05:08:24 pm »
There is a "Generate a text report..." toolbar button on the rules page. Can you please post the output of that here for both a rule which works and a rule that doesn't.

Thanks
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2011, 06:52:27 am »
DOESN'T WORK RULE EXAMPLE:

Rule Name: Doesn't Work Test Rule
Group Name:
Description:
Enabled: Yes
Ignore Retriggers: No
Log: No

Event:
  Device Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach  (ir)
  Event Name: Received IR

Whenever Filters:
  InfraredCommandName: Pronto.NEC13Screem169

Action List:
1.  Turn on  X10 ACT TI103  light # Masking 16:9 (196) .

Auto-Generated Script:
lighting2.TurnOnLight(196);



ERROR LOG DETAIL FOR ABOVE:

Date:     9/3/2011
Time:     8:40 AM
Severity: Debug
Source:   DriverService
Computer: DEANE
Context Type: Driver
Context Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach : Global Cache GC-100/iTach
Description:
Received IR code (not in learn mode): 38000,343,172,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,63,21,21,21,63,21,63,21,63,21,63,21,63,21,63,21,21,21,63,21,63,21,21,21,63,21,63,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,21,63,21,21,21,21,21,63,21,63,21,63,21,63,21,1673,343,85,21,3812


RULE THAT IS WORKING:

Rule Name: TheaterON
Group Name:
Description:
Enabled: Yes
Ignore Retriggers: No
Log: No

Event:
  Device Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach  (ir)
  Event Name: Received IR

Whenever Filters:
  InfraredCommandName: Pronto.NEC21TheaterON

Action List:
1.  Turn on  Z-Wave (ViziaRF RZC0P)  light # Compex Limiter (21) .
2.  Turn off  X10 ACT TI103  light # Lower Entry Hall Light (111) .
3.  Send the AV7005 ON infrared command from Global Cache GC-100/iTach.
4.  Turn on  X10 ACT TI103  light # Masking 16:9 (196) .
5.  Turn on  X10 ACT TI103  light # Pre-Movie Lights (148) .
6.  Turn on  Z-Wave (ViziaRF RZC0P)  light # BFD Equalizer (22) .
7.  Turn on  Z-Wave (ViziaRF RZC0P)  light # Sub Woofer (20) .
8.  Run Scene: EasyRiseAllDown
9.  Set  Z-Wave (ViziaRF RZC0P)  light # Kitchen Track (4)  to  60 %.

Auto-Generated Script:
lighting.TurnOnLight(21);
lighting2.TurnOffLight(111);
ir.AV7005.ON();
lighting2.TurnOnLight(196);
lighting2.TurnOnLight(148);
lighting.TurnOnLight(22);
lighting.TurnOnLight(20);
Scenes.Easyrisealldown();
lighting.SetLightLevel(4, 60);

LOG ENTRY DETAIL FOR ABOVE:

Date:     9/3/2011
Time:     8:49 AM
Severity: Debug
Source:   DriverService
Computer: DEANE
Context Type: Driver
Context Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach : Global Cache GC-100/iTach
Description:
Global Cache Driver received: completeir,2:3,9




John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2011, 02:01:35 pm »
Have you tried restarting the computer to see if that clears up the issue?

So the rule that doesn't work is for the Pronto.NEC13Screem169 IR command.

Can you post what the ir code looks like for that command.

Then turn on diagnostics debugging for the driver and post a log of when you attempted to trigger the code.  We can compare the received IR values with the one you have saved.
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2011, 02:20:17 pm »
"Pronto.NEC13Screem169 IR command"

Yes, for that command.  The word should be Screen, not Screem, but the typo wouldn't have any effect on the performance since it's only an arbitrary name.

I will have to relearn it in the morning, as it has been over written with a USB-UIRT code for the time being, as explained below.

I will do all of these things tomorrow morning when I am fresh.  At age 76 I know better than to do something later in the day when I can make mistakes, or fail to state things clearly and accurately.  I will clearly provide samples of everything.

The logs I sent were for only one rule example submitted as an example.  I am unable to get any new Global Cache triggered rules to work at this time, only about half a dozen GC rules I somehow got to work after repeated tries at "learning" originally.  That, of course, puzzles me.

What I have done for the moment as a work around is to re-install my USB-UIRT and use it for the rules that aren't working with Global Cache.  With a combination of Global Cache and USB-UIRT, I have everything functioning.  They seem to co-exist on the computer OK.  The goal will be to solve this and get everything moved to the Global Cache and retire the USB-UIRT completely.

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2011, 06:57:46 am »
I have relearned the code and rebooted the computer.  No change in performance.

IR Code that doesn't work as learned in the library:

38000,343,171,21,20,21,20,23,16,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,62,23,16,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,62,21,20,23,16,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,1667,347,85,22,3721,346,86,21,3800

IR Code that doesn't work as shown in Log View Detail:

Date:     9/5/2011
Time:     8:40 AM
Severity: Debug
Source:   DriverService
Computer: DEANE
Context Type: Driver
Context Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach : Global Cache GC-100/iTach
Description:
Received IR code (not in learn mode): 38000,343,171,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,62,21,20,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,3800


Code that works as learned in IR library:

40000,360,179,22,21,22,21,22,21,22,21,22,21,22,17,24,66,22,21,24,66,24,66,24,66,24,66,24,66,24,66,22,21,24,66,22,21,24,66,24,66,22,21,24,66,22,21,22,21,22,21,24,66,22,21,22,21,24,66,22,21,24,66,24,66,24,66,22,1752,366,90,22,3910,375,90,22,3993

Code that works as received in Log View Detail

Date:     9/5/2011
Time:     8:46 AM
Severity: Debug
Source:   DriverService
Computer: DEANE
Context Type: Driver
Context Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach : Global Cache GC-100/iTach
Description:
Global Cache Driver received: completeir,2:3,9


The most glaring thing that jumps out to me is that with the non-working code, the entire code is recorded in the log.  With the code that works, only a brief description is logged.

The other thing that jumps out is that the "learned code" is longer than the "received code".

Perhaps not relative, but I notice when I learn a code, it places two versions in the IR library, one Global Cache and the other Pronto format.  The Global Cache appears to be the one it uses.



John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2011, 11:06:05 pm »
As you suspected, the reason the rule isn't firing is because the codes are different lengths.

I'll give Global Cache a call and find out if there is some fuzzy logic I can use to overcome that.
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2011, 03:01:45 pm »
I spoke to GC support and the engineer said the different lengths are usually caused by either holding down the remote control button longer or by interference such as from florescent lighting. He also said that the extra codes could be at the beginning or end of the sequence.

I will take a look at updating the driver this evening and having a build out later this week... hopefully.
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2011, 12:10:46 am »
Deane,

I have posted a new update to improve the ir code comparisons.
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2011, 11:00:26 am »
Thanks for the update.  We may have joy, but I'm not comfortable declaring victory without a little more testing.

The reason I don't want to get too jubilant just yet is that some codes previously worked sporadically, so it's possible I could still be in that mode, even though I have now put 3 things in that wouldn't work previously and they now work for the first time.

Here is the log data that on a command that now appears to be working.

Date:     9/15/2011
Time:     12:53 PM
Severity: Debug
Source:   DriverService
Computer: DEANE
Context Type: Driver
Context Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach : Global Cache GC-100/iTach
Description:
Received IR code (not in learn mode): 38000,343,171,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,20,21,62,21,20,21,20,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,62,21,3800

UPDATE: After putting in several more that work, all of a sudden I hit one that won't work.  I looks like the following and is slightly longer.  I have re-learned it multiple times:

Date:     9/15/2011
Time:     1:59 PM
Severity: Debug
Source:   DriverService
Computer: DEANE
Context Type: Driver
Context Name: Global Cache GC-100/iTach : Global Cache GC-100/iTach
Description:
Received IR code (not in learn mode): 49000,437,218,36,26,36,26,36,26,36,26,31,26,31,26,29,82,36,26,29,82,36,82,38,80,36,81,37,82,39,80,36,26,29,82,36,26,36,26,29,82,37,79,36,26,31,26,31,26,27,27,29,82,34,79,36,26,31,26,29,82,34,81,36,80,35,79,36,2129,399,110,30,4750,425,110,34,4850

« Last Edit: September 15, 2011, 12:04:13 pm by Deane Johnson »

John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2011, 01:51:55 pm »
The length no longer matters (no pun intended).

The two ir codes you specified look very different and therefore the software is probably correct in not seeing them as the same ir.

For example, the 1st one uses a frequency of 38000, while the next is at 49000. That's a 22% difference. Elve only allows the frequencies to be different by 10%.

The on/off pairs are also quite different. 21,20 vs 36, 26.

The gist is that these 2 codes are very different and therefore should not match.

Try learning the codes with no direct light and little ambient light to minimize the interference.
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2011, 02:32:22 pm »
I'll work on it tomorrow when I'm fresh.  Fewer mistakes.

I had pretty good light control, but I'll take it further into darkness.

I assume what we are seeing is that it's learning at an incorrect frequency on those that don't work.

I am suspicious of Global Cache having issues.  I have seen correspondence that Homeseer also has issues with Global Cache that they haven't been able to correct.

My USB-UIRT appears to be working flawlessly in this regard.  I bailed out of it in favor of Global Cache because on certain rules Elve would lose communication with the USB port and I had to reboot.  Now, those rules have been moved to the Global Cache and the USB-UIRT hasn't been lost since.

Now, I am using a combination of USB-UIRT and Global Cache and everything is functioning.

I assume that the thing I need to accomplish is to get Global Cache to learn the code at the correct frequency, then it seems to always work after that.

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2011, 06:17:02 pm »
I think I've learned a little bit more.  The Global Cache bounces around on it's learn frequency.  38 seems correct for the Pronto frequency.  Sometimes it learns at 39, 40, 42, even as high as 49.  38 works with Elve, but 41 and up don't seem to.

So, I relearned codes over and over until I got them at 38 and those always seem to work, at least in the tests I've run so far.

I had one that kept learning at 42, so I tried backing away from the Global Cache receiver a couple of feet and it learned at 38, and now works.  I wonder if the Pronto, which has mammoth IR output, might be over driving the Global Cache when the transmit and receive components are too close together.  In normal playback, the Pronto is 6 or 8 feet from the receive eye, so it doesn't over drive.

I used a dark room for these procedures and I don't have any fluorescent lights.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2011, 06:24:09 pm by Deane Johnson »

Deane Johnson

  • Guest
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2011, 08:55:56 am »
I have entered another bunch of codes in the IR library and the problem of creating the "off frequency" issue is repeatable and controllable.  If I hold the remote within 3 or 4 inches of the receiver eye, the frequency is recorded erroneously.  One time it recorded as high as 59 rather than the normal 38.  Hold the remote a foot or so from the receiver and it gives me a good code every time.

I think clearly there is an issue with the Pronto over driving the input of the receiver eye which is distorting the signal to the point it's turning the code to jibberish.  Fortunately, there's an easy fix by simply backing away a bit.

This discovery, along with your modification of the coce length issue should go far towards increasing reliability.


John Hughes

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2852
    • View Profile
    • Codecore Technologies
Re: Trouble getting IR command to execute a rule!
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2011, 11:50:16 am »
That's great, thanks for the update.

In the worst case I could add a configurable tolerance to the driver which allows more of a difference between codes... however this would also increase the number of false matches.
John Hughes
Codecore Technologies